Board Subcommittee Recap for 2020-2021

The Board of Directors of Junior League of Phoenix works to advise, govern, oversee policy and direction, and assist with the leadership and general promotion of the organization and its mission. The strategic work of the Board is done primarily through board subcommittees and for the 2020-2021 league year, that included: Community Research & Development, Diversity, Equity & Inclusion, Finance, Fundraising, Membership Satisfaction & Retention and Training.

The 2020-2021 year was unlike any other year, and the Board spent much time considering the implications of the COVID-19 pandemic and worked with a Task Force to develop policies throughout the year. They had to make the difficult decision to stay virtual all year, except for in-person volunteer shifts that followed safety protocol. Some of the year’s highlights include: Researching potential focus areas and creating Focus Area Impact Models to prepare for the Focus Area member vote in 2021-2022. Voting to add a Diversity, Equity & Inclusion team with a Vice President and two new committees: DE&I Evaluation & DE&I Action. Submitting and receiving a PPP loan, getting new insurance bids, making sure our Financial Review was completed and our 990 filed. Voting to add a new Digital Fundraising committee under the Development Team to continue our strategic goal of diversifying fundraising opportunities. Researching new training opportunities and gathering insight from the leadership team and members. Revising the Annual Membership Survey and working on a Code of Conduct Policy.

The Board is proud of our members for their continued commitment to our mission, during this challenging year and would like to extend a huge thank you to all the members who participated in our subcommittees.

Community Research & Development – Led by Kristine Thompson, Leah Gerber, Megan Hannon, Kimberley Hoidal, Alicia Jenkins, Jill Kipnes, Kristen Leonard, Melinda March, Andrea Moore

Diversity, Equity & Inclusion – Led by Tameka Fox Hartman, Reacel Allen, Toni Califana, Kelli Dryer, Jessika Filus, Nicole Fries, Lillian Fu, Maite Garcia, Leah Gerber, Thanh Duc Huynh, Kelly Jaress, Alicia Jenkins, Kaleigh Jenkins, Amanda Lopez, Christina Mauro, Jessica Mitchell, Stephanie Mitchell, Kristen Noffke, Vivian Okomo, Shiron Patterson, Cindy Pries, Patricia Whitescorn, Jessi Wright

Finance Subcommittee – Led by Christina Coyne, Jennie Elser, Elizabeth Goldstein, Shannon Larson

Fundraising – led by Kellie Martin, Wendy Brooks, Jennie Elser, Nancy Grace, Theresa Rink, Kate Strawther, Jennifer Todd, Stephanie Viboch

Membership Satisfaction & Retention – Led by Lisa Donahue and Blair Coe Schweiger, Wendy Brooks, Canyon Haley, Alexis Hatch, Jill Kipnes, Teresa Neilson, Kimberly Rife, Heidi Surovetz, Jessica Wise, LaTricia Woods

Training – Led by Blair Coe Schweiger, Elizabeth Benoit, Cindy Brown, Abigail Coolidge, Jessica Gabry, Jen Mozilo

COVID-19 Task Force – Led by Wendy Brooks, Sarah Crank, Sara Mayer, Jen Mozilo, Jen Ward, Kelly Yunis

A special thanks to two JLP members – Christine Faber, for helping with the insurance rebidding, and Kellie Martin, for helping with the PPP application